101: Wet launch

Strong wind 10 m/s (20 knots) and 15 m/s (30 knots) in the gusts. Very difficult to launch from shore. As soon as I raise the sail, the boat is capsized by the wind or the clew starts fluttering violently and I fail to fasten the clew to the boom.
I resort to the “wet launch”: I lay the boat on the side in the water. There I raise the sail and fasten the clew to the boom. Once everything looks good, I raise the boat, jump into the cockpit and sail away. Once I am in the cockpit, I can handle the extreme wind.

This is a problem with Vareo, difficult to launch in extreme wind. In a traditional boat, I would raise the main sail sitting in the cockpit, pulling the halyard.

Returning to the beach in extreme wind is easier. If necessary, I can capsize the boat on shallow depth, release the halyard, retrieve the sail, and then bring boat up on beach.

About perakesson

translator, technical writer
This entry was posted in Loftahammar, RS Vareo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment